

Date: July 24, 2020

To: Honorable Rebeca Sosa, Chairwoman

and Members

Tourist Development Council

From: Michael Spring, Director

Department of Cultural Affairs

Subject: Overview of TDC Board Terms and Nominations

The mission of the Miami-Dade County Tourist Development Council (TDC) is to develop and promote Miami-Dade County's appeal as a tourist destination, primarily by supporting tourism-related activities and programs. To accomplish this mission, the TDC invests its resources in tourist-oriented cultural and special events such as visual and performing arts, including theater, concerts, operas, dance, festivals, art exhibitions and recitals; sports events; television origination projects.

Pursuant to Florida State Statute and County Ordinance, the composition of the TDC must be comprised of nine (9) members with the following qualifications:

- One (1) member: the Chair of the County Commission or a member of the County Commission designated by the Chair;
- Two (2) members: elected municipal officials, at least one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in the County (i.e., the City of Miami);
- Three (3) members: owners or operators of motels, hotels or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tourist development tax; and
- Three (3) members: persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, but who are not owners or operators of motels, hotels, or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tax.

Members of the TDC are appointed via group appointment by the Miami-Dade County Board of County Commissioners for a period of four years, usually staggered terms.

The solicitation for nominations to fill vacancies on the Tourist Development Council were advertised as a press release to all major media and social media outlets and forwarded by the Miami-Dade County Mayor's newsletter, the Department of Cultural Affairs' social media sites (Facebook, Twitter and Instagram), El Nuevo Herald, Miami Herald and the Miami-Dade County League of Cities.

In response to the advertisement for nominations, credentials of eligible candidates for the TDC were submitted and reviewed by the Tourist Development Council Nominating Committee. Nominating Committee members present at the meeting were: William Talbert, President & CEO, Greater Miami Convention and Visitors Bureau; Carole Ann Taylor, Chairperson, Black Hospitality Initiative of Greater Miami; and Natalie Millian, Director, Miami-Dade County Hispanic Advisory Committee. On February 10, 2020, based on a thorough review of qualifications, the Tourist Development Council Nominating Committee unanimously voted to recommend these candidates to fill the advertised vacancies on the TDC Board: T. Gene Prescott, Wendy Kallergis and William Perry, III. In addition, in the interim, the City of Miami has nominated Commissioner Alex Diaz de la Portilla for the seat to be filled by the elected municipal official from the most populous municipality in the County (i.e., the City of Miami).

The attached chart lists each board member and their appointed term.



Miami-Dade County Tourist Development Council

MEMBERS	AFFILIATION	TITLE	Term
Chairperson			
Rebeca Sosa	Miami-Dade County Commissioner	Chairman	01/17 – 9/20
Elected Municipal Officials			
Alex Diaz de la Portilla*	City of Miami	Commissioner	09/20 - 03/24
Micky Steinberg	City of Miami Beach	Commissioner	03/16 - 03/20
Owners/Operators of Hotels or other Tourist Accommodations			
T. Gene Prescott*	Biltmore Coral Gables	President	09/20 - 09/24
Hemant Patel	Kings Motel	General Manager	03/16 - 03/20
Danielle Torres	Marriott Courtyard Hampton Inn – Homestead	Director of Sales	03/16 - 03/20
Involved in Tourist Industry			
Wendy Kallergis*	Greater Miami and the Beaches Hotel Association	President & CEO	09/20 – 09/24
William Perry, III*	Airport Parking Associates	Partner/Owner	09/20 - 09/24
Olga Ramudo	Express Travel of Miami, Inc.	President/CEO	03/16 – 03/20