

Date:	July 24, 2020
То:	Honorable Rebeca Sosa, Chairwoman and Members Tourist Development Council
From:	Michael Spring, Director Department of Cultural Affairs
Subject:	Overview of TDC Board Terms and Nominations

The mission of the Miami-Dade County Tourist Development Council (TDC) is to develop and promote Miami-Dade County's appeal as a tourist destination, primarily by supporting tourism-related activities and programs. To accomplish this mission, the TDC invests its resources in tourist-oriented cultural and special events such as visual and performing arts, including theater, concerts, operas, dance, festivals, art exhibitions and recitals; sports events; television origination projects.

Pursuant to Florida State Statute and County Ordinance, the composition of the TDC must be comprised of nine (9) members with the following qualifications:

- One (1) member: the Chair of the County Commission or a member of the County Commission designated by the Chair;
- Two (2) members: elected municipal officials, at least one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in the County (i.e., the City of Miami);
- Three (3) members: owners or operators of motels, hotels or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tourist development tax; and
- Three (3) members: persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, but who are not owners or operators of motels, hotels, or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tax.

Members of the TDC are appointed via group appointment by the Miami-Dade County Board of County Commissioners for a period of four years, usually staggered terms.

The attached charts show the current composition of the TDC and the recommendations of the TDC Nominating Committee.



Miami-Dade County Tourist Development Council

CURRENT MEMBERSHIP

MEMBERS	AFFILIATION	TITLE	Term		
Chairperson					
Rebeca Sosa	Miami-Dade County Commissioner	Chairman	03/17 – 09/20		
Elected Municipal Officials					
Keon Hardemon	City of Miami	Commissioner	03/14 – 03/18		
Micky Steinberg	City of Miami Beach	Commissioner	03/16 - 03/20		
Owners/Operators of Hotels or other Tourist Accommodations					
T. Gene Prescott*	Biltmore Coral Gables	President	03/14 – 03/18		
Hemant Patel	Kings Motel	General Manager	03/16 - 03/20		
Danielle Torres	Marriott Courtyard Hampton Inn – Homestead	Director of Sales	03/16 – 03/20		
Involved in Tourist Industry					
Stuart Blumberg*	Tourism Educator and Consultant	Educator/Consultant	03/14 – 03/18		
William Perry, III*	Airport Parking Associates	Partner/Owner	03/18 – 03/22		
Olga Ramudo	Express Travel of Miami, Inc.	President/CEO	03/16 - 03/20		

*Seats for Nomination

PROPOSED MEMBERSHIP

MEMBERS	AFFILIATION	TITLE	Term		
Chairperson					
Rebeca Sosa	Miami-Dade County Commissioner	Chairman	03/17 – 09/20		
Elected Municipal Officials					
Alex Diaz de la Portia*	City of Miami	Commissioner	09/20 – 09/24		
Micky Steinberg	City of Miami Beach	Commissioner	03/16 - 03/20		
Owners/Operators of Hotels or other Tourist Accommodations					
<i>T. Gene Prescott*</i>	Biltmore Coral Gables	President	09/20 - 09/24		
Hemant Patel	Kings Motel	General Manager	03/16 – 03/20		
Danielle Torres	Marriott Courtyard Hampton Inn – Homestead	Director of Sales	03/16 – 03/20		
Involved in Tourist Industry					
Wendy Kallergis*	Tourism Educator and Consultant	Educator/Consultant	09/20 - 09/24		
William Perry, III*	Airport Parking Associates	Partner/Owner	09/20 - 09/24		
Olga Ramudo	Express Travel of Miami, Inc.	President/CEO	03/16 – 03/20		

*Recommended